top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

You're doing just fine!


As a parent, you often times find yourself worrying about your parenting. Most times you're tough on yourself about how you can be a better parent or a "perfect" parent. You may compare yourself to other parents but don't worry, you're doing great!! We all have our own ways of parenting and no one is a perfect parent. The only time we may considered a perfect parent is through our children's eyes. I will admit I have not always been the best parent. Living with your parents is the worst when you have kids. My parents damaged my relationship/parenting a lot when my son was smaller. When he was just an infant, my mom would never allow me to sleep with him or hold him too long in fear of him becoming spoiled which I understood but still wished I was able to hold him more. Through the years, it was as if my son was theirs. If I wanted to take him anywhere - the answer was NO. Trust me that I argued, screamed, fought but they would find ways to basically force me to have to say okay. Whenever I would try to discipline my child - they would huff and puff. This was how my son was raised his first few years. Despite all of that, my son adores me. He comes up to me daily, hugs me and tells me he loves me. He always tries to make me laugh and put a smile on my face. Our relationship has grown so much. I am able to do whatever - whenever, unfortunately, in the expense of my mothers passing. Though my son still tests his boundaries whenever his grandfather is around, it has all improved very much.

 

In the 2014-2015 school year, my son was behind. He could not read at the level he was supposed to and that was due to my inability to get home before his bedtime and make sure it was all done. I was too busy balancing work, college and my pregnancy. For 2015-2016's school year, I did not attend college so I made sure to fully focus on my son. He was given a "conditional promotion" meaning he would be assessed a month into 1st grade to see if he could read at the required level. If not, he had to repeat Kindergarten. Every single day I sat with him and made him read 3 books. I was hard on him. Very hard. But it has all paid off! My son is now a level N reader which is the level 2nd graders must reach at the end of 2nd grade. He is excelling in math as well. My husband met with his teacher last week who said he is one of the top students in his class because he is rocking his academics. The relief and happiness that rushes through me to hear that he is doing above and beyond in school. That my hard work and effort has paid off. I am soooo proud of my son. He is such a bright boy! I am proud of myself because I'm doing something right and it is showing.

 

REMEMBER, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A PERFECT PARENT. JUST BE THE BEST PARENT YOU CAN BE AND ALWAYS HAVE YOUR CHILD'S BEST INTEREST AT HEART!


bottom of page